© Khunaspix Dreamstime.

Nine IATA member airlines; SAS Cargo, Finnair Cargo, Lufthansa Cargo, Air France/KLM, Korean Air, Cathay Pacific, Qatar Airways and Emirates have taken the lead in the Nordic market to implement the electronic-air waybill (e-AWB) for their air freight shipments.

The Nordic and Baltic Countries began piloting the project in 2009 and implementation is now moving ahead. The project is a global project involving the World Customs Organization (WCO), Ground Handlers, Freight Forwarders and Airlines.